Show me the money, honey

2010:
Net worth:  Negative something.
Assets:  Opened an RRSP with $100 monthly payments.
Liabilities:  $28,000 student loan debt.  $20,000 car loan debt.

2012:   I became obsessed with spreadsheets:  budgets to plan and follow!

2013:  Paid off my student loan.
Net worth:  Negative something.
Liabilities:  Brand new car – $25,000 car loan debt.

2014:  Finally a positive net worth!  A temporary 6 monthly side hustle definitely helped.
Net worth:  $4k in May to $26,000 at the end of the year.
Liabilities:  $18,000 car loan debt.

2015:  Car accident in August, car got written off.
Net worth:  $40,000
Liabilities:  Brand new car loan –  $27,000.

2016:  That 5month old car got stolen in February!!
Net worth:  $50,000 in June 2016
Liabilities:  Brand new car loan –  $36,000.

Dec 2016:  Joint net worth:  $9000

I got engaged in October 2016 and by the end of the month, we had transitioned into a joint budget.

New debt:
Student loan – $11,800
His vehicle – $19,500
Her vehicle – $31,700

…not to mention a $50,000 wedding to plan and save for in less than 8 months!!!

2017, please be good to me us!! 🙂

3 thoughts on “Show me the money, honey

  1. Pingback: The Net Worth of Personal Finance Bloggers

    • I know :$

      That includes everything though: venue, rings, honeymoon, etc, and a healthy buffer. Trust me, I’m def trying to trim it down some more and def choosing the most budget friendly options.

      If it makes it any better, that’s approx $38.5 USD; within average.

      But I agree, it was a lot to take in at first. Before we created our wedding budget spreadsheet, I had thought $25k CAD was already too high!

      Like

Leave a Reply

